Customer reviews for Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc 29

Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc 29

With a smooth SR Suntour 29er fork with lockout, powerful Avid BB5 disc brakes, and double-walled 29" alloy wheels, the Hardrock Sport Disc 29er is prepared for mountain trails and urban jungles.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Hardrock Sport Disc 29
Review 1 for Hardrock Sport Disc 29
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing bike

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Sanders3
fromBismarck, ND, USA
Age:17 or under
Length of ownership:6 months
Level of expertise:Advanced
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own the 2011 model of this bike which In late May 2012 brand new out of the shop. I have put around 5,000 miles on this bike and you can ride it road or mountain. It is lightweight and very easy to ride and extremely durable. I have abused this bike and it holds up because of specialized's protected and beyond reliable name. EXCELLENT BIKE for the money!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hardrock Sport Disc 29
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sweet

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
thePROTEGE2012
fromKennewick, WA, USA
Age:18 to 24
Length of ownership:6 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent bike, bang for your buck and awesome bike to get started on
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hardrock Sport Disc 29
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most Bang for your buck

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Customer avatar
CascadeFlux
fromBainbridge Island, WA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Length of ownership:6 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have to say that I shopped quite a bit and test drove about a dozen bicycles in this price range. This one topped them all! Everything about the bike is great. The way it looks, how the 29 inch wheels handle downtown potholes! I re-purposed mine to make it into a touring bike and it functions beyond my wildest dreams! If you are in the market for a bicycle why not choose a superior product! My only complaint is the pedals, I have to replace the plastic ones with metal so my feet don't slip when it rains.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byRoboschwinn
 
Please wait while more information about Roboschwinn is loaded.
Additional information about Roboschwinn could not be loaded.
onAugust 19, 2012
I use my 29er for commuting have you found full coverage fenders. Bad roads are the reason I picked the 29er is rides smooth over bad roads. Just need to stop water spray from the wheels when it get wet or muddy. This bike is solid and reliable, easy to maintain.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Hardrock Sport Disc 29
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This bike will change your outlook.

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Josef
fromPortland, OR, USA
Age:25 to 34
Length of ownership:1 month
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this bike so I could hit jeep trails without a jeep and maybe ride some of the friendlier, flatter trails up around Mt. Hood and in Bend when the snow melts. This bike had other plans! I tried out a lot of different bikes at the shop, and ended up really liking this one for its centered balance, short length between the dropouts, and just overall comfort. That should have been my first clue about what my riding style would be. I was that kid who took his ten speed bike freestyling and crushed a few bike helmets in the process. When I got my first MTB as a 14 year old, I left no construction site untracked. But I got into skiing and sort of forgot all about the mountain bike for a good decade or so, transitioning to a touring/road bike as a commuter. I was totally ready to just use this bike as a human powered jeep, something to get me in when the rivers are high and the backroads are pudding. What I wasn't ready for was how this thing hovers off the side kickers. I ride locked in on clipless pedals, and clipped in, the balance and feel on the launch is almost exactly what it feels like to hit a kicker on my skis. Let me repeat that: this bike is so well balanced that you can launch it while clipped in! That's insane!
The short frame is lightweight and agile. The balance is farther forward than the other bikes I tried; it sort of handles like a pair of park skis. I like the position, but it does mean you've got to stay back in the saddle when grinding up the steeps or you'll spin the back wheel. Speaking of steeps, the giant 29 inch wheels keep this thing upright at walking speed almost effortlessly, not to mention the fatty tubes and larger surface area make it just sail right over almost everything. I'm still not used to the fact that these wheels don't catch on everything like my old 26" Schwinn did.
This is my first time using disc brakes, and I love them! I ride a lot in western Oregon, and it's nice how the brakes just don't care how wet it is. I'm still getting used to not having to compensate.
Overall, I love this bike. I have no complaints. I'm stunned, filled with shock and awe at how far mountain bikes have come since 15 years ago.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hardrock Sport Disc 29
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough Bike

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Oct21
fromFayetteville, AR, USA
Age:17 or under
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this bike in 2010 as a 09 model. It has the copper green paint that looks great! The bike is tough and is comfortable. Shifting is nice, tires are great! I love this bike!! Recomend negotiating the price down with the bike shop though because it is a little pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hardrock Sport Disc 29
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great mountain bike!

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer avatar
BennyK
fromChicago, IL, USA
Age:17 or under
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Level of expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this bike for 4 years and it still works great! Shifting between gears is a little rough, but i have really punished it on the trails and it has dirt covering it. It is a fun bike and very fast! If you want a good durable bike the hardrock sport is for you!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hardrock Sport Disc 29
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bike

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
silverior
fromCampbell, CA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Length of ownership:6 months
Level of expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very durable, I been riding on light-moderate trails and so far everything is good, I'm very pleased.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hardrock Sport Disc 29
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great intro bike

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer avatar
urbannerds
fromSedona, AZ, USA
Age:35 to 44
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Had this bike for over a year and it is exactly what I needed. I would recommend putting wider, off-road tires on it if you are going to be riding trails. Stock tires aren't great for off-road.
Bike is still going strong on some of the toughest trails!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hardrock Sport Disc 29
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice bike

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
a22ll
fromManhattan, KS, USA
Age:17 or under
Length of ownership:3 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this bike is really nice the only thing is the rear brake cable gets hooked on the shock lock out making it impossible to turn to the left
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hardrock Sport Disc 29
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great first bike

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Robbo
fromCharlotte, NC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this bike to mostly play on the local trails. I didnt realise I would soon be hooked. The hardrock has everything you need to hit the trails hard. However if I had known then what I know now, I would have spent a little more and upgraded to full suspension.
I have owned the bike for a year now, and have had to replace the chain, and rear deralier, nothing defective, just my riding style . I consider this my entry level real bike, but have no problem fitting in with the big boys down at the trails..
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hardrock Sport Disc 29
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great All Around Bike

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer avatar
J0hnny51273
fromTulsa, OK, USA
Age:35 to 44
Length of ownership:1 month
Level of expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My first mountain bike. Wanted something I could ride on paved trails during the week and local mountain biking trails on the weekend. 29's are a nice dual purpose sized wheel, allows me to keep up with my fellow rider on his roadie on paved trails and rolls over obstacles a lot easier on dirt/downhill trails.
I'm amazed at how light the bike feels both riding and carrying up a flight of stairs. Shopped the other two big brands in the same price range. One just didn't feel as well made and the other, well let's just say their few days to put one together is actually more like a week.
I actually liked the look of the Hardrock better than the other two as well. While one might have had slightly better components my Hardrock is lighter than my friends 26" hard tail of that brand so I'm glad I did.
Overall great first bike couldn't be happier with the bike and my local dealer! Can't wait to upgrade my components to make it an even better ride! A Specialized fan for life! Get One!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byKobra
 
Please wait while more information about Kobra is loaded.
Additional information about Kobra could not be loaded.
onJune 5, 2012
Did you purchase from Midtown Bicycles? If so, I completely agree, those guys are awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Hardrock Sport Disc 29
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bike

PostedMay 25, 2012
Customer avatar
armIN
Age:25 to 34
Length of ownership:1 month
Level of expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
is my first mountain bike and i love it for beginners its excelent good purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.