Customer reviews for Specialized Secteur Expert Disc Compact

Specialized Secteur Expert Disc Compact

Perfect for a Gran Fondo, with Roubaix-inspired Endurance Road geometry, plus shaped seatstays and FACT carbon fork, the Secteur Expert Disc is fast and comfortable over the long haul. Strong, efficient Avid disc brakes and 10-speed Shimano 105 compact drivetrain add efficiency and reliability.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(4 reviews) 4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 4 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
3 out of 3(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Secteur Expert Disc Compact
Review 1 for Secteur Expert Disc Compact
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile and Fun Bike

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
HS68
fromToronto, ON
Age:45 to 54
Length of ownership:6 months
Level of expertise:Advanced
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I was looking for a bike to do multiple tasks, and by default there is always a compromise. I have been pleasantly surprised by the Secteur that there has been little to no compromise!
I bought this bike to primarily commute (all year in Toronto, and yes we do get snow!), and I also wanted to be able to train on this bike in inclement weather, as well as race some of the spring cyclocross classics. The bike needed to have eyelets for racks and fenders, but also needed to be able to be light and handle well.
With the disc brakes, it is easy to switch out wheels and tires, but I have been very impressed with the Roubaix tires. I've been riding roads and trails with fantastic performance, and even getting in interval and hill training between work and home during the week (with my long rides on my carbon race bike). In fact, I usually end up doing this training with my panniers on, and have even been able to stand out of the saddle on hills with them on.
Again, I can't say enough about this bike, it's fun, handles really well, and is a fast commuter. I highly recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Secteur Expert Disc Compact
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My first road bike and i love it

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Chano
fromQuebec
Age:45 to 54
Length of ownership:1 week
Level of expertise:Intermediate
I bought is 2 weeks ago in Quebec city. I use to be a montain biker and I went in my shop Demers just to see bikes and I fall in love with this one and now day and night, I ride. I like the confort, the brake and the speed.
Gratien
Quebec City
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Secteur Expert Disc Compact
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally! A Road bike that I can commute with!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Majorvox
fromRenton, Wa.
Age:45 to 54
Length of ownership:1 month
Level of expertise:Advanced
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am 48 years old and I have been commuting to work about 4 to 5 days a week now for 4 - 1/2 years on an early 90's mountain bike. I was finally able to afford a new bicycle and since I am still around 240 lbs I wanted at least a cyclocross because that was all that was available that would be light weight but able to handle my weight, and also have provision for fenders and a rear rack for my panniers. When I finally went in to put some money down on a Tricross the salesman recommended that I look at this Secteur instead. I LOVE IT!
It is 11 lbs lighter than my old bike and it has all the things that I wanted, mechanical disc brakes, lighter weight, road bike style handle bars, etc. The only thing I had customized was I had them add the cross-top brake levers like the cyclocross.
The only difference between my old bike and this one is that its easiest gear is not quit as easy as the old mountain bike. Don't get me wrong though, the easiest gear is still fantastic because of the huge weight difference and comfort, and I think I can still have the gear sets changed a little bit. The only reason I mention this is because I have a 10.5% grade hill that I have to climb every day to get home. But that wouldn't keep me from recommending this bicycle to anyone else!
If there was anything that I would like different it would be I would love this bike in a Flat Anodized black or maybe a brilliant blue color.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (7)
1 2 next>>
Comments (7)
Customer avatar
Posted byMajorvox
 
Please wait while more information about Majorvox is loaded.
Additional information about Majorvox could not be loaded.
onAugust 1, 2013
Yes, because of the disc brakes you need to get a rack that has wider stand offs at the axle. Almost any bike shop will have a rack like this today.
If your looking for really good and inexpensive WATERPROOF panniers you can't get better than the Seattle Sports Panniers look for the Rain rider or the Titan on amazon. I've been usin the older smaller one's that you see in my pics for years. I'm not sure you can get the smaller ones any longer though.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byAnonymous
onJuly 31, 2013
Thanks for your review! I'm curious if you had to purchase a disc specific rear rack? I would LOVE to pickup this bike and use it as a daily commuter with panniers as well.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byMajorvox
 
Please wait while more information about Majorvox is loaded.
Additional information about Majorvox could not be loaded.
onMarch 23, 2013
Good greif, I have no idea how much it can support! I weigh 240 lbs and my panniers are about 15 lbs total and it does just fine carrying my huge weight to work and back. I have already improved my hill climb time on one hill in my commute by 4 minutes. How much weight can it carry... sheesh.....
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byChano
 
Please wait while more information about Chano is loaded.
Additional information about Chano could not be loaded.
onMarch 23, 2013
how many pounds on charge can it support ?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byMajorvox
 
Please wait while more information about Majorvox is loaded.
Additional information about Majorvox could not be loaded.
onMarch 22, 2013
It weighs about 24 lbs with the rack and fenders on it.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
1 2 next>>
Comments (7)
Read comments (7)
Review 4 for Secteur Expert Disc Compact
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Mdiggity
fromPortland Oregon
Age:35 to 44
Length of ownership:6 months
Level of expertise:Beginner
I'm a new road cyclists who is still learning the ropes, but I commute by bike in a rainy area and wanted to invest in something that would be fun to ride to work, durable and safe as well as good for long rides on the weekend.
I couldn't be happier with my bike. It's as fast as I need for sure; plenty stable riding along the jarring roads of a city toward my office; and a dream to open up on the flats. The disc brakes are equally awesome on those wet days and it's great to have some real stopping power while riding in the city.
Though it's more bike than a beginner like myself would ever need, I feel it will be a trusted companion for years to come.
Sure I don't have much to compare it to as I've only owned mountain bikes before. I'd recommend this bike to anyone like me and more advanced riders. It's not the sportiest bike on the rack, but I love it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.