Customer reviews for Specialized Roubaix SL4 Sport 105

Specialized Roubaix SL4 Sport 105

Smoother is faster. The more comfortable and less fatigued you are at the end of a 4 hour ride, the stronger you'll be. Like shocks on a race car, the Zertz vibration damping inserts on the Roubaix SL4 help absorb road impact and keep power planted firmly on the road - couple that with a FACT carbon 10r frame and it's still plenty stiff to thrash around in a sprint. Just ask four time Paris-Roubaix champion Tom Boonen
Overall rating:
4.917 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Roubaix SL4 Sport 105
Review 1 for Roubaix SL4 Sport 105
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Ride

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer avatar
NickA4
fromPerth, Western Australia
Age:45 to 54
Length of ownership:6 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first carbon bike having ridden 501 and 531 for years. Absolute delight to ride, so stiff and responsive and even the handle bars are just right, chunky and in control. I no longer get backache. I've knocked up 2000kms in 6 months which is a lot for me but it's only because I love riding this bike. Superb.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roubaix SL4 Sport 105
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Full Carbon Bike

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
MD871986
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25 to 34
Length of ownership:1 month
Level of expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I recently transitioned from A 2012 Giant Revel Mountain Bike to this 2014 Specialized Roubaix SL4 Sport. I chose this over a Specialized Tarmac due to the Zertz vibration dampening inserts that absorb all the shock. The only upgrade that I would recommend is to replace the stock crank to a 2014 Shimano Ultegra FC-6750 10-Speed Compact 50/34 Crank Set 172.5 . Overall the bike gets a 9.5/10.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roubaix SL4 Sport 105
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid, all-around performer

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Qemist
fromRichmond, VA
Age:45 to 54
Length of ownership:6 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The SL4 Roubaix is everything I was looking for in a road bike - relatively light weight, great handling, comfortable enough for long rides - but capable in short sprints and hill climbs. The only reason I could not give 5 stars are because of the brakes. While good in most situations, they are not strong enough to inspire confidence on fast, steep descents. Other than that, the bike is just about perfect.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roubaix SL4 Sport 105
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great ride

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Pricey
fromYeovil Somerset UK
Age:45 to 54
Length of ownership:1 month
Level of expertise:Beginner
I have had this bike for just over a month. It is my second specialized bike but first road bike in along time. It is a comfortable but quick bike. I am very pleased with the bike and if you are looking for your first carbon road bike this will take some beating!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roubaix SL4 Sport 105
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Road Bicycle

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
SL4Works
fromQueens, NY
Age:35 to 44
Length of ownership:1 week
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
After riding mountain bicycles for 20 years I decided to finally buy a road bicycle. The only thing I can say is I'm sorry I waited 20 years to do so. The feel of this bicycle is amazing. It makes you want to ride all day. You can't go wrong with a Specialized bicycle.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roubaix SL4 Sport 105
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great smooth ride

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
JLG60
fromCalifornia
Age:55 to 64
Length of ownership:6 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Back in the saddle after being self employed for twenty years and bought this new bike which like most other reviewers think it's a dream. Fast and smooth.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roubaix SL4 Sport 105
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Intro to Biking 102

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Tjee
fromBaltimore, Maryland
Age:25 to 34
Length of ownership:1 week
Level of expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I have been "Renting" bikes for rides with my group of friends, however i've finally bit the bullet when purchasing the Roubaix Sl4 Sport.
My biggest issue was comfort, stability, and endurance when i was renting bikes of all brands and purposes.
After my purchase, I ran a quick 20 mile trail, and another 7 mile hill run.
My "Issues" are now resolved, i have never felt so comfortable on a bike after getting it adjusted to me personally. The roubaix offers me comfort, performance, and confidence to pursue a new found hobby!
Thank you specialized!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roubaix SL4 Sport 105
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Viva la difference

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Sparty
fromTexas
Age:45 to 54
Length of ownership:1 month
Level of expertise:Beginner
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
54 yo new rider.
First 35 mile ride was one week ago, where i gave the last ounce of my strength to stay up with the pack. The hills were a killer. I was ridiculed for being so stubborn about keeping my 30+ year old steel bike. Made the plunge, bought this new bike and could not believe the difference the new technology made. While i have a torn rotator cuff, the bike transmits very little of the road vibration to the shoulder. I still am in awe. Great ride.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roubaix SL4 Sport 105
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality and comfort and an excellent value

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
John1946
fromLancaster, CA
Age:65 or over
Length of ownership:1 week
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First carbon bike. I'm an intermediate rider, some group rides, some climbing, and average about 100-140 miles a week and I'm 67. The bike handles exceptionally well, smooth ride, and much less fatigue than on my alloy bike (not Specialized). The bike is stable and very comfortable smoothing out the bumps in our desert and rough mountain roads. The components are very good which makes this a good value also. The bike seemed almost effortless on my first 40+ mile ride which cut minutes off my usual time. On top of that it's a great looking machine!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Posted bybill67
 
Please wait while more information about bill67 is loaded.
Additional information about bill67 could not be loaded.
onMarch 16, 2014
john67, great review as I am also 67 and really want to increase my road miles; roads here are also somewhat ragged, so needed to know if the Roubaix SL4 SPORT 105 could handle it, I think you helped make a sale.
bill67
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byJohn1946
 
Please wait while more information about John1946 is loaded.
Additional information about John1946 could not be loaded.
onMarch 11, 2014
Maybe I should have make it clear that I'm 67 yrs old but ride a 54cm frame Roubaix. Now with hundreds of miles on the bike in the past couple of months I still think it's a great machine. It almost makes climbs that bothered me before, effortless! Shifting is smooth and precise (the mechanic at Block Bikes keeps it in adjustment for me), it's a great machine for the money.
+5points
5of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byPeter03
 
Please wait while more information about Peter03 is loaded.
Additional information about Peter03 could not be loaded.
onJanuary 20, 2014
Hi John65
i've just ordered same bike ( 67 ) although my height is175
i felt more comfortable on a 56mm. i've been out of the saddle for many years hope i made the right choice.
Peter T
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)
Review 10 for Roubaix SL4 Sport 105
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Carbon Bike

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
RE2959
fromPalm Beach Florida
Age:45 to 54
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Level of expertise:Advanced
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This bike offers great performance, great looks at an affortable price! A bike that you can upgrade without any hesitations and, the shock absorbing Zertz "are trully amazing"!...
Thank You...
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roubaix SL4 Sport 105
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So glad as a beginner I stretched to the SL4 Sport!

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
cjn11972
fromMelbourne, Australia
Age:35 to 44
Length of ownership:3 months
Level of expertise:Beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
It's a great looking bike but the best part is that it quickly helps you feel like you 'belong' on those busy weekend days with all the 'semi pros' on their $10k bikes are burning around...one of my best purchases in any leisure category ever!
I looked at options from Trek, Giant and the usual suspects but kept coming back to the Roubaix. Great staff at my local concept store too who fitted me perfectly and got me comfortable.
I'm now a Specialized brand fan.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roubaix SL4 Sport 105
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Product!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Robert48
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I am new to the cycling sport and after starting on an average bike, the move to a full carbon Roubaix SL4 Sport 105 has been a drastic incentive to strive for more. The performance difference is night and day. This is an outstanding product!!!
THANK YOU SPECIALIZED!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.